Conservative U.S. Supreme Court Clerks and Constitutional Conservative Lawyers Endorse Branch for AG

On the opening day of the 2013-14 U.S. Supreme Court term, Dan Branch, Republican candidate for Texas Attorney General, announced the endorsement of a coalition of conservative former U.S. Supreme Court law clerks and other leading constitutional conservative lawyers—including George Fibbe, Jeremy Kernodle, Cameron Kinvig, Brad Knippa, Brandt Leibe, Matt Miller, Michael J. Norton, Jeff Oldham, Will Peterson, Michelle Stratton, Aaron Streett, and Evan Young.

U.S. Supreme Court Clerks

“Representing Texas in the U.S. Supreme Court is one of the most important responsibilities of the Texas Attorney General,” said Branch.  “I’m honored that a coalition of Texans who clerked for our nation’s most conservative justices have chosen me to fight for Texas.”

“These men and women know that Texas needs a strong Attorney General with a record of defending the Constitution, especially when President Obama and Attorney General Holder regularly place Texas in their crosshairs,” added Branch.

The former U.S. Supreme Court clerks who have endorsed Branch for Attorney General include:  Brandt Leibe (Justice Thomas), Jeff Oldham (Chief Justice Rehnquist), Will Peterson (Justice Thomas), Michelle Stratton (Justice Thomas), Aaron Streett (Chief Justice Rehnquist), and Evan Young (Justice Scalia)—as well as Charles Eskridge (Justice White) and James C. Ho (Justice Thomas), who have previously announced their support.

Constitutional Conservatives

Conservative Texas lawyers George Fibbe, Jeremy Kernodle, Cameron Kinvig, and Matt Miller also have endorsed Branch for Texas Attorney General.  Each is a leading member of the Federalist Society—the nation’s most prestigious organization of volunteer constitutional conservative attorneys.*  Fibbe, Kinvig, and Miller are the current Presidents of the Society’s Houston, Dallas, and Austin Lawyers Chapters, respectively, and Kernodle is the Dallas Chapter’s Vice President.

“No organization has done more for constitutional conservatism than the Federalist Society,” said Branch.  “Behind virtually every conservative legal cause in America, you will find a group of hard-charging, hard-working Federalist Society members, using their intellectual firepower to turn conservative constitutional theory into reality.”

“As a Federalist Society speaker and advocate of limited government, I’m humbled to have the support of Society leaders and so many of the top conservative lawyers entrusted by Attorney General Greg Abbott and U.S. Senator Ted Cruz to fight and win the great constitutional battles of our time,” added Branch.

Cruz Senate Campaign Treasurer

Brad Knippa, a leading Texas conservative lawyer and Senator Cruz’s campaign treasurer, has also announced his endorsement of Branch for Attorney General.  Knippa has joined a dozen top Cruz legal advisors who have previously indicated their support of the Branch campaign.

Constitutional Leadership Team

Branch’s Constitutional Leadership Team now includes:

·         Two icons of the nationwide constitutional conservative movement:  C. Boyden Gray and Leonard Leo.

·        Top former deputies to Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott and top legal and campaign advisors to U.S. Senator Ted Cruz:  James L. Bayless, Jr., Marcella Burke, Bill Cobb, Erin Nealy Cox, Stephen Cox, Charles Eskridge, Jonathan Frels, C. Boyden Gray, Rebecca Gregory, James C. Ho, Ruth Hughs, Sean Jordan, Brad Knippa, Eric Nichols, Chief Justice Tom Phillips, Jaime Ramón, David Schenck, Aaron Streett, Justice Kent Sullivan, and Andrew Weber.

·        Four former Texas Supreme Court justices:  former U.S. Attorney General Alberto Gonzales, former Chief Justice Tom Phillips, and former Justices Craig Enoch and Harriet O’Neill.

·        Eight Texans who clerked for conservative U.S. Supreme Court Justices.

·        Leading Federalist Society lawyers in Texas.*

Branch’s campaign for Attorney General has also been endorsed by a majority of Texas House Republican members, including:  Hon. Jimmie Don AycockHon. Cecil Bell, Jr.Hon. Dwayne Bohac (Texas House Tea Party Caucus Vice-Chairman)Hon. Greg BonnenHon. Cindy Burkett (Texas House Republican Caucus Vice Chair)Hon. Angie Chen ButtonHon. Bill CallegariHon. Travis ClardyHon. Byron CookHon. Drew DarbyHon. John DavisHon. Sarah DavisHon. Gary ElkinsHon. Marsha FarneyHon. Allen Fletcher (Texas House Tea Party Caucus Chairman)Hon. John FrulloHon. Charlie Geren, Hon. Lance GoodenHon. Patricia HarlessHon. Linda Harper-Brown (Texas House Republican Caucus Treasurer)Hon. Dan Huberty (Texas House Republican Caucus Secretary)Hon. Todd HunterHon. Jason IsaacHon. Kyle KacalHon. Jim KefferHon. Ken King, Hon. Susan KingHon. Tim Kleinschmidt (Texas House Republican Caucus Policy Chair)Hon. Lois KolkhorstHon. John KuempelHon. Lyle LarsonHon. George LavenderHon. JM LozanoHon. Doug MillerHon. Jim Murphy, Hon. John OttoHon. Chris PaddieHon. Diane PatrickHon. Larry PhillipsHon. Jim PittsHon. Four PriceHon. John RaneyHon. Bennett RatliffHon. Debbie RiddleHon. Allan Ritter, Hon. Kenneth SheetsHon. J.D. SheffieldHon. Ralph SheffieldHon. Wayne SmithHon. Phil StephensonHon. Jason VillalbaHon. Paul Workman, and Hon. John Zerwas.

* organization used for identification purposes only