Barry Smitherman Endorses Dan Branch for Attorney General

AUSTIN – Today, recent GOP Attorney General Candidate and current Texas Railroad Commission Chairman Barry Smitherman announced his strong endorsement of Dan Branch for Attorney General, citing Branch’s extensive legal, lawmaking and leadership experience.

“Dan Branch has been a practicing attorney for 30 years, and is admitted to practice in the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit and the United States Supreme Court—the two courts of greatest relevance in Texas’ continuing battles against the Obama Administration,” said Commissioner Smitherman. “For these and other reasons, I am supporting Dan Branch for Attorney General.”

Ken Paxton, Branch’s opponent in the May 27th Republican Primary Runoff, is not authorized to argue in either the United States Supreme Court or the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

“The Attorney General must have integrity, honesty, and high moral character,” Smitherman continued. “Sen. Paxton’s recent admission that he broke the law when he failed to register with the State Securities Board, during a period of time when he was actively soliciting investments on behalf of “Fritz” Mowery, is very troubling. He also failed to disclose his employment as an investment advisor to his legal clients, a possible violation of the State Bar’s rules for professional responsibility. As a result of his admission of guilt, Sen. Paxton was recently fined and reprimanded by the Securities Board for multiple violations of the Texas Securities Act.”

“Chairman Smitherman’s endorsement is another sign of our campaign’s surging momentum as we head to the finish line,” said Dan Branch. “Barry is a dedicated conservative who for many years has boldly fought for the rights of Texans, the future of our state and our conservative values. Barry knows that our next Attorney General should be a person of character and integrity, and I am very grateful for his endorsement.”

Chairman Smitherman, who received more than 280,000 votes and 22 percent of the electorate in the March 4th Republican Primary, joins scores of leading Republicans, dedicated conservatives, accomplished attorneys and trusted law enforcement leaders from across Texas.


  • Ten former top legal advisers to Attorney General Greg Abbott, including two former First Assistant Attorney Generals and a former Solicitor General;
  • Thirteen attorneys that served as top legal and campaign advisers to U.S. Senator Ted Cruz;
  • Four former Texas Supreme Court Justices, including former U.S. Attorney General Al Gonzales and former Chief Justice Tom Phillips;
  • Seven active Republican District Attorneys who uphold the rule of law and protect the rights of citizens across Texas, including 2013 Texas Prosecutor of the Year David Weeks;
  • Former Courts of Appeals Justices John Cayce and Kent Sullivan;
  • Eight conservative former U.S. Supreme Court Judicial Clerks;
  • Federalist Society leaders across Texas;

Law Enforcement:

  • Thirty-five active Republican Texas sheriffs who represent Texans from all regions of the state as well as former President of the Sheriffs’ Association of Texas and retired Smith County Sheriff J.B. Smith;
  • Texas Department of Public Safety Officers Association PAC, representing over 3,700 law enforcement officers;
  • Texas Municipal Police Association, representing over 20,000 law enforcement officers;
  • Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas, CLEAT, representing over 18,500 members across Texas;
  • Texas Attorney General Peace Officers Association, representing peace officers who report to the Texas Attorney General;
  • Dallas Police Association, representing over 4,000 law enforcement officers;
  • San Antonio Police Officers Association, representing over 2,000 police officers and their families;
  • Houston Police Retired Officers Association, representing over 1,600 retired police officers;
  • Lubbock Professional Police Association, representing over 300 police officers and their families;



  • A large majority (54) of the Texas House of Representatives Republican Caucus, including the Tea Party Caucus Chairman;
  • Over 130 leaders and members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women, including immediate past President Carolyn Hodges;
  • Numerous current and former State Republican Executive Committee members;
  • Hispanic Republicans of Texas, representing over 100,000 Hispanic Republican voters;
  • Over 30 Young Republican Federation leaders and grassroots activists across Texas, including the current Chairman Emeritus and immediate past President Mark C. Brown;



  • Texas Association of Business BACPAC, representing over 4,000 small and large business enterprises;
  • Texas Association of Builders HOMEPAC, representing over 10,000 members;
  • Texas Apartment Association PAC, representing over 10,000 members;



  • North Texas newspapers, such as the Dallas Morning NewsFort Worth Star-Telegram, Waxahachie Daily LightMidlothian Mirror and Ellis County Trading Post;
  • East Texas and Southeast Texas newspapers, such as the Longview News-Journal, Lufkin News, Nacogdoches Daily SentinelBeaumont Enterprise and Houston Chronicle;
  • Central Texas newspapers, such as the Austin American-Statesman and Bryan-College Station Eagle;
  • South Texas newspapers, such as the San Antonio Express-News;
  • West Texas newspapers, such as the Amarillo Globe-News;



  • Texas Medical Association TEXPAC, representing over 50,000 physicians, medical students and family members;
  • Texas Hospital Association HOSPAC, representing over 369,000 healthcare professionals;
  • Texas Society of Anesthesiologists PAC, representing over 3,500 active members;



  • Texas Farm Bureau AGFUND, representing 580,000 member-families;
  • Texas & Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association TSCRA PAC, representing over 16,400 ranching families, cattle producers and businesses;
  • Texas Cattle Feeders Association BEEF-PAC, representing 4,500 feed yards, feeders and cattle feed-related businesses; and
  • Texas Forestry Association FORPAC, representing more than 3,000 members.